CCC '09 J3 - Good Times

View as PDF

Submit solution

Points: 5
Time limit: 2.0s
Memory limit: 64M

Problem type

A mobile cell service provider in Ottawa broadcasts an automated time standard to its mobile users that reflects the local time at the user's actual location in Canada. This ensures that text messages have a valid local time attached to them.

For example, when it is 1420 in Ottawa on Tuesday February 24, 2009 (specified using military, 24 hour format), the times across the country are shown in the table below:

Pacific Time Mountain Time Central Time Eastern Time Atlantic Time Newfoundland Time
Victoria, BC
Tuesday
2/24/2009
1120 PST
Edmonton, AB
Tuesday
2/24/2009
1220 MST
Winnipeg, MB
Tuesday
2/24/2009
1320 CST
Toronto, ON
Tuesday
2/24/2009
1420 EST
Halifax, NS
Tuesday
2/24/2009
1520 AST
St. John's, NL
Tuesday
2/24/2009
1550 Newfoundland ST

Write a program that accepts the time in Ottawa in 24 hour format and outputs the local time in each of the cities listed above including Ottawa. You should assume that the input time will be valid (i.e., an integer between 0 and 2359 with the last two digits being between 00 and 59).

You should note that 2359 is one minute to midnight, midnight is 0, and 13 minutes after midnight is 13. You do not need to print leading zeros, and input will not contain any extra leading zeros.

Sample Input

1300

Sample Output

1300 in Ottawa
1000 in Victoria
1100 in Edmonton
1200 in Winnipeg
1300 in Toronto
1400 in Halifax
1430 in St. John's

Comments


  • -3
    jaydenchu2003  commented on Nov. 19, 2019, 6:38 p.m.

    Is it good if I spent 6 hours of my Sunday doing this question?


  • 3
    HARRIBO  commented on Aug. 24, 2019, 5:16 p.m.

    Anyone know why the word "Winnipeg," cuts off to "Winnipe"


    • 5
      AlanL  commented on Aug. 24, 2019, 7:43 p.m.

      Output is clipped, so you don't see all of your program's output. Your program is probably outputting "Winnipeg", but you only see "Winnipe". As magicalsoup has already said, please join the dmoj slack as it will probably be faster for you to get answers to your questions on there.


  • 2
    Arihan10  commented on Jan. 25, 2019, 9:16 a.m. edited

    Does anyone know why I am getting WA on this?

    Thanks.

    EDIT: Nevermind I got it now.


    • -4
      magicalsoup  commented on Jan. 25, 2019, 12:40 p.m.

      you might want to look at the NewFoundLand Time a bit more carefully, see if it follows your logic, this time is special because it doesn't go by an multiple of hours, instead it goes by a specific amount of minutes, which might have broke your logic and caused you to print some absurd time like 14:70


      • 3
        Arihan10  commented on Jan. 25, 2019, 12:47 p.m. edit 2

        Nevermind I think I got it. It's 24:00 standard (I assumed 12:00).